Sharpening chisels - the old way?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I tend to do the same when I just want to get on with the job in hand. Sometimes it's just too much faff to set the sharpening stall out and use a honing guide.

However I still think an angle grinding fixture is a very useful aid when eventually you need to come back to a tidy new primary bevel.

Maybe I'm just not very good at it cos of my bins, but successive honing eventually makes the sharp end look like a dogs breakfast.

(Yup, I'm a time-served engineer :roll:)

Ike

Mr_Grimsdale":2r3u2de0 said:
I think I've found out how to sharpen chisels at last! It's taken 40 years.

I think you've invented the rounded bevel that the old manuals recommend grinding to get rid of!!

BugBear

Mr_Grimsdale":3p5qc4zq said:
I now realise that a honing guide is not much help with sharpening, infact is a big hindrance and makes the whole process much harder and slower.

cheers
Jacob

Hi Jacob,

I have a question :) .

Have you ever tried using a honing guide :roll: :wink: ?
I for years thought there where a wast of time but I always had problems getting a consistently sharp edge ( I used an indian oil stone and blue handled stanley chisels ).
I would have days ( not many :roll: ) when I could get an edge right away but after reading Kingshott's book, I got one for 50p at a car boot and gave it a try and get edges done a lot quicker than I used to.

If you can get you tolls sharpened by hand then great for you but some have a problem like me and I have found a honing jig the way to go, plus like you I work for myself so time is money.

I have a simple jig to set my angles and it takes seconds to set them up, plus on whole I use a single bevel ( that is unless I hit a nail or screw, the joy of repairing old furniture :evil: ) :wink:

Regards Colin

Hi Jacob,