Rubbish Joinery

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

custard

Established Member
Reaction score
A local builder called me a few days ago to see if I could machine him up some custom door linings in Oak.

I know almost nothing about joinery work, but following his plans was straightforward. So this morning I dropped them off at his job. While there I saw some of the other, more "standard" door linings he was fitting. They were short hardwood staves, about 22mm x 22mm x 200mm, all glued up together and then wrapped with an Oak veneer. They didn't look particularly good to me, but I'm no expert. When I pointed this out he said those were a long way from being the worst, and there are some door linings that are just MDF wrapped with veneer.

I was shocked, how can the weight of a door be hung from less than an inch of MDF?

A question to the joiners on the forum, is that really representative of modern joinery work?

That doesn't sound very good at all. Sometimes all people see is the money that can be saved at the time. It's a false economy trying to cut corners and use inferior materials/products.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

They're very unlikely to read this, so I can add that some friends recently had some softwood windows installed which they were surprisingly pleased with.
The surrounding trim - architrave, window board etc - is made of very fast grown glued together strips with feathered end joints. It also has sapwood and resin pockets.
Some of the pieces are about 6mm short of what they should be, so the fitter left gaps at the ends. Maybe that's intentional, and it's an eco-friendly place for the spiders to hide in? :)

Howden joinery oak veneered MDF door linings with oak veneered MDF skirting and architrave to match, hate the stuff.

Here's some rubbish cabinet making to go with the rubbish joinery.