Routers/Router Tables

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SisterSeagull

Reaction score
Hello... I am looking at enhancing my (very small) workshop with a router table and router. I already have a Bosch POF1400n ACE but would really like something smaller and lighter. How does the Makita RT0700CX4 rate? Some of the reviews seem pretty good and Makita have a good reputation (?) Anything with a quarter inch shank will be ideal as it is only for light DIY and toy making (this is my venture). As a relative beginner, I have also looked at a cheapish router table made by Charnwood.... How do these rate as they are really quite cheap!

Any help/suggestions will be gratefully received!

Steve

Router tables range from a board with a router affixed, clamped half on/half off the workbench [overhanging] to some beautifully made workstations with gizmos a-plenty, you can spend from nothing to a lot. If you're just dipping your toe you might prefer to be frugal until you know you're going in the right direction, having said that a solid router table will make a versatile enhancement.

IMHO your router is at the lower end of the power range with regard to router table suitability. It will work, but you may later on wish to upgrade in terms of power and shank size, to deal with larger diameter cutters. Of course it depends on your specific requirements.

Is this the one you're looking at?http://www.charnwood.net/shop/product/charnwood-bench-top-router-table-1?cid=20

Oh, and welcome to the forum.

the makita gets great reviews, but is not suited to a table- it is idea as a small handhelf one though, which is what it is designed as.

Why not use your existing bosch in a table (is this what you are actually suggesting?). as long as you are not using large cutters, it will probably do the job ok.

SisterSeagull":29u0ltg9 said:
How does the Makita RT0700CX4 rate?