Looking for a good UK plunge/table router

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phario

Reaction score
The standard recommendation for routers around the internet is the Bosch 1617EVS with 2.25hp. Unfortunately, this does not seem available in the UK (and I couldn’t find any that were of a similar model).

I’m looking to use the router for cabinetry. I am limited on space but hope it can be used table mounted most of the time but used freehand the rest of the time.

I’m an amateur getting into DIY cabinetry for our house. So for instance I'm looking at doing nice edges and also things like tenons for shaker-style doors.

Price range is probably sub £350 and preferably around £250, though I can exceed if there are great reasons to.

I’ve heard that Triton is a good brand. The [TRA001] is about £315 but people complain it is too heavy for free hand use. The weaker [TJOF001] is less than £130 but I have concerns it is too weak for a table-mounted usage.

I have the Triton MOF001 which is right in the middle between the two you linked. You have to buy the 1/2 inch collet seperately, but it's a really nice router. I use it primarily in a table, but when I've needed it handheld it feels a sensible size. Seems to have plenty of power but I've not tried anything big like a panel raising bit on it yet.

I have the Triton MOF001 which is right in the middle between the two you linked. You have to buy the 1/2 inch collet seperately, but it's a really nice router. I use it primarily in a table, but when I've needed it handheld it feels a sensible size. Seems to have plenty of power but I've not tried anything big like a panel raising bit on it yet.
Hi!

Thanks!

I ended up getting that same model on your recommendation. Would you have time for two questions?