Router Advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xiphidius

Established Member
Reaction score
Not sure if this is the right spot for this or not but anyways.........
I am a complete newbie to routering and I want to put a roundover finishing edge to a curved piece of MDF which runs into a small straigh section at the beginning and the end of that said curve. Can this be done and if so how....without breaking out or cutting into the straight sections..please advise....maybe a dumb question but I'm only a hobbyist trying to learn some routing skills.
Thanks in advance for all your suggestions and help in this matter which is highly appreciated.
Regards
C

You probably need to show us a picture of the curve shape - do you mean something like a headboard shape?

Roundover bits generally have a bearing which runs against the edge of the workpiece, so you should be able to follow any shape.

Sorry its probably like I should have done this before assembly (of the grandson's proposed toybox) please excuse I am a novice.
Its the top arch I would like to round off slightly to get a nice finish before sealing and sanding.
I'm useless I know compared to the experts on here but am willing to learn...
any help appreciated or alternatives to what I'm suggesting
Regards
C

Attachments

• Pre sanding stage 1.jpg
    Pre sanding stage 1.jpg
    55.6 KB · Views: 1,102
That should be fairly easy. The bit has a bearing which follows the existing edge and you can do all of that with a fairly small and inexpensive router - one that takes 1/4 inch bits should be fine. You can get bits in all sorts of sizes, you want to look for the correct radius of cut for the size of the rounder you want.

RB-8I-2.jpg