Record Power thread protector

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Workshop Bob

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All,
Apologies for what is probably a silly question but I am just learning to turn on a second hand record power lathe and Im a little confused by the thread protector that came with it. If I leave it in place and try to turn a piece its obvious that the taper of the drive centre is not engaging properly and it slips even though the thread protector is fully home. I have left it off for the time being and all is fine but should I able to turn with it in place?

Thanks Bob.

you should yes. It sounds like the thread protector is the wrong size for the lathe. What model is the lathe?

Incidentally it's not the end of the world if you leave it off but if the spur drive gets stuck in the morse taper the thread protector would be the guarantee you can get it off without causing too much bother to the spindle.

Its a DML 24. Ill get the vernier out tomorrow and have a measure then. I can always skim the thread protector down on my metal lathe if its just a case of too much material in the length.

Thanks.

(01246) 571020

Above is the Record Power phone number. You could give them a bell (on Monday) and they can confirm if its the right size or not. Take option 2 and speak to the technical dept. I just happened to speak to them today myself on a DX issue and they're always really helpful.

I have the same issue. RP thread protector, CL2 lathe but it only interferes with my pen mandrel (rutlands). its ok with my other (axminster) drives so I am assuming that its down to the length of the tapers (at the fat end, if that makes sense).

Ive got a CL4 and I never had any problems with the thread protector but to be honest I've all but stopped using any morse taper drive centres since I bought this