Record Power CL4 - problems fitting the VSLK motor assembly

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mpcpba

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all - newbie here just setting out on woodturning. Just got a brand new CL4 and am trying to assemble it. Has anyone else fitted the motor into the headstock as I am having a problem?

The motor shaft is supposed (according to the instructions) to have a flat spot to allow 2 grubscrews to be inserted into the pulley to hold the pulley in place. However the motor shaft does not have a recessed flat spot - it instead has a keyway fitted into a slot in the end 25mm of the shaft instead. The pulley supplied though has a round centre shaft without a keyway recess so it will not slide onto the motor shaft . So either the pulley is the wrong one (maybe from an earlier CL4 model) or else the motor shaft will need the keyway drifting out.

I expect I will have to speak to Record after the long weekend but thought I'd just check... I've already had about multiple phone calls /emails about missing / wrong parts with the initial delivery a week ago so not too impressed so far...

Good morning

I had a look at the manual that came with my VSLK unit. It is version 3.0

On page 10 section 8 says

The stepped pulley should be positioned so the grub screw insert is aligned with the groove on the motor shaft.

I assume that motor shafts are machined with a groove for a location key as standard. The latest version of the VLSK may have a pulley with a keyway in it.

I've just looked at mine and there is no slot in the pulley for a woodruff key.

Don't forget to fit the second grub screw, to lock the first one.

Cheers

Dave

Many thanks for the reply.