Recommendations for a Planer/Thicknesser

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gandalfs Staff

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I am a DIY woodworker, working out of a double width garage. Nothing professional, just making bits and pieces for myself and friends. Recycling old scaffold boards, making outside tables, Adirondack chairs etc- its all a bit rough as I am really new to the hobby having only started wood working at the beginning of the pandemic. There is no interest in turning it into any form of business.

I am looking for a planer/thicknesser to give me the opportunity to mill my own timber as and when required. The machine won't be used daily. Ordinarily that would lead me to conclude I could purchase something from a Craft range ala Axminster. However having read around a little I am minded to purchase a machine with a spiral block rather than straight cutters. I can't stand the thought of faffing around having to reset blades and/or get them sharpened.

I have been looking at machines such as an iTech260S, Hammer A3 26 (although I don't know what the price of this is I can't seem to register for the felder site), Axminster Trade AT260SPT. The machine needs to be single phase.

Can anyone give offer any thoughts on the macines I have mentioned or indeed any similar priced machines. I have a budget of £2k-£2.5k.

Thanks

I can't stand the thought of faffing around having to reset blades and/or get them sharpened.
Get one that takes disposable blades and maybe the Tersa system which gives easy blade changing. Changing all the cutters in a spiral machine will be expensive and time consuming, from what I have read the helical cutter is better than the spiral due to angle of the cutters.