problems with union graduate lathe and patriot chuck

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
HI all,

I am having trouble with the patriot chuck winding on properly to the lathe on both sides- The first chuck I had seated on properly against the headstock but wasn't running true- I sent it back and was given a replacement- The second one won't wind on all the way- stops short about 15 mm from the register- they've sent me a third one to try- same thing- now I am wondering if the spindle on the Union Graduate may not be a typical tpi- or maybe there is something else I am missing? I'm new to wood turning and old machinery- but have invested a lot in this Lathe so hoping to get some help here.

thank you,
Charlie

Attachments

• PXL_20230303_112551700.jpg
    PXL_20230303_112551700.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
  • PXL_20230303_112616541.jpg
    PXL_20230303_112616541.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 0
Is the chuck sticking as you wind it on, that is, it gets to one point on the spindle and won’t go any further, but can be unscrewed?
If that is the case, it suggests that the the spindle thread at the sticking point is damaged. You may need a replacement spindle.
D.

Do you have any chuck or faceplate already which has the 1 1/2" x 6tpi thread? If so, try those on the spindle to eliminate a damaged thread. If they are good, the problem lies with the chuck but check for any obvious burrs or deformation on the thread or register.

As Paul said above check the headstock thread for damage. More chance its the old thread than a new chuck or thats where I would first look. A small ding in a thread can be carefully filed back into line.
Regards
John

As Paul said above check the headstock thread for damage. More chance its the old thread than a new chuck or thats where I would first look. A small ding in a thread can be carefully filed back into line.
Regards
John