Problems with an MYford ML8 motor

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SueB

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to turning and I've recently got hold of an old Myford ML8 lathe. I've been using it for several months but now the motor won't turn until I give the wood a spin before pressing the on switch. I've replaced the fan belt (a leather contraption) with a new one which came with it. There does not seem to be any evidence of a capacitor on the motor which is an Associated Electricial Industries make. The motor label says: BS 2412,
Volts 220/240
Phase 1
HP 1/2
A 3.6 or 36 - hard to read
RPM 1488
AEI was bought up in 1967 so I've a feeling this is a very old machine.

Any ideas how I might fix the problem or what motor I could fit to replace this one.

Also, there is no instruction manual with the lathe so advice on basic maintenance that I should do would be gratefully received. I'm reasonably handy with hand tools and electric drills/ chop saws but I'm a complete novice with electric motors.

Thanks very much, Sue

It sounds like the capacitor has failed, it could be inside the motor casing. Perhaps another ML8 user could confirm where it might be hiding!

Hello Sue and welcome, No doubt a sparky or turner will be along soon to help, Mean while you can have a butchers at the link below, Parvum's comments are relevant to you're situation I would think.
Regards Rodders

myford-ml8-motor-t60236.html

I have a maintenance leaflet and exploded diagram which I can scan if you send me your email address. I agree the problem sounds like a capacitor, although some induction motors use a separate start winding which is operated via a centrifugal clutch.