Elu mff81 bearings - help needed!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andrew_2

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all
First post and I'm coming begging!

I have an Elu MFF81 planer and the main bearings are now mostly filings. It's a nice clean machine, I've had it from new and it's only seen medium service, so I think it's worth having a go at repairing it.
I saw a similar thread here:
https://www.ukworkshop.co.uk/threads/replacing-bearings-on-an-old-elu-mff80-electric-planer.135385/If simonharper is still on the forum, I would be grateful for his wisdom!

Problem 1: I'm not a mechanic and I don't know how to get the pulley off the armature shaft. Presumably it's a clockwise turn (the shaft appears to be threaded rather than a locknut), and I've tried putting grips on it. I'm scared of damaging the teeth if I start bashing it. Is there a right way of removing the pulley so I can get to the bearing underneath?

Problem 2: Black and Decker say that one particular bearing is no longer available as a spare (I can get the other 3 no prob). Does anyone know what it is and where else to go look? simonharper mentions he changed his with SKF bearings, but until I get that pulley off, I don't know what that bearing is!

I would be grateful for any help here!
Andrew

Attachments

• mff81_pulley.jpg
    mff81_pulley.jpg
    187.8 KB · Views: 0
@simonharper isn't a prolific poster here. His last posts are over a year ago but he has looked in on the forum early this year. Once you yourself have made another couple of posts, you can use the conversation feature to send him a message that may send him an email alert if he's set it up that way.
I have the same planer but sorry, no time to take it apart and look for you in the next few months.
Elu are good tools from before the throwaway culture and would have been made to allow servicing.