Pre-project musing. Disguising door frames.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woof

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello All,
Advice required if possible and be gentle! Still a newbie here but very much inspired by you folks on here. One day I ought to post up my projects to date (TV/cinema stand; oak bathroom boxing) but now I am thinking about progressing with the next project - internal oak doors (rough sawnamerican white has been acclimatising indoors since June so should be ready - as soon as I am!

So heres the thing. I now am thinking the door frames (currently white painted on what I guess is some softwood) should be natural oak too to match the doors. But surely I don't need to rip all the frames out and replace with oak? What I was thinking would work would be to replace the "mouldings" (the part that protrudes into rooms) with oak that I can run across the router table. But what of the "face" of the frame itself (the part that faces across the doorway) - one thought I had is to cut thin oak and glue - in a veneer type way? But perhaps a little thicker than veneer - 5mm? However, never having done any veneer I have no idea if (i) it is feesible or (II) would look awful. Maybe there is a better way at doing this and am hoping someone out there will have some suggestions?! Hopefully this post makes sense as I must apoloise for not knowing the technical terms.

Many thanks in advance,

Mark

unless the removal of the architrave etc will cause widespread destruction to the surrounding decoration I would have thought that any veneering / overlay etc would take a lot more effort than replacing it with oak (which looks fantastic by the way). If there are any issues around things like wall paper I would make the architrave slightly wider than the current one.

Hope this helps.

Miles

I would also take the old door linings out.