Oiling outside furniture

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Deadeye

Established Member
Reaction score
I think it's fair to say that I'm a complete noob at finishing anything for the outdoors.
I made a nice garden bench (oak) and put 2 coats of OSMO UV on it. One winter later it is a horrible blotched mess of slightly golden oiled areas and blackened patches that look like mould but aren't dusty, just very discoloured.
What did I do wrong? Can I retrieve it?

Git it a very light jet wash to try and remove or at least break the surface finish and then let nature do it's job. It will eventually turn a lovely pale grey. Do not apply anything again, just a bleach wash or light jet wash if you really have to every year.

Colin

Linseed oil paint is good. I've got bench and handrails outside which get a splash of paint every year or two.

Answer already in the question.

You

I make Oak benches and never offer to apply anything to them, knowing full well it will become someones life's work to maintain it.
Lol. "I wouldn't start from here" was also already in my opening post. Given that I am starting from here do you have any wisdom either more useful or more amusing? ;)

Git it a very light jet wash to try and remove or at least break the surface finish and then let nature do it's job. It will eventually turn a lovely pale grey. Do not apply anything again, just a bleach wash or light jet wash if you really have to every year.

Colin
Thanks colin
Worth sanding to help that along do you think?

do you have any wisdom either more useful or more amusing?
Can't do amusing, lets try wisdom, I would be very hesitant to even go near it with a pressure washer, seen it done, raises the grain terribly, and I doubt it'll shift off the oil that has adhered and which has not been affected by UV.