Best way to remove sap from knots on redwood timber?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all, newbie here after some advice.

I'm a welder by trade and work with wood, so I know wood is a nightmare to work with. However, I just wanted some advice on some timber.
I am making some outdoor seating for a client, it's redwood, planed and routered. I know any softwood outside isn't ideal, I usually use sapele or iroko externally, but the client didn't have a decent budget. I have made many of these flat pack metal picnic benches and just used over the counter C24 from travis perkins, cut to size, dried out, lightly sanded and apply a half decent decking or UV oil to it. It works fine, I've got one that's 4-5 years old and apart from some shrinkage and some splitting, it's done well.

However, TP usually send it soaking wet and twisted and warped and lately I've had shocking quality. Plus they're a bit overkill in 6x2 and 9x2. So I got a chap up North who I use for lots of sapele and oak slats to do me a load of kiln dried redwood all the same size, slightly dearer than TP stuff, but without the tanalith horrible green stain. However, it does seem quite fresh and maybe not as kiln dried as I thought. I will get the reader in it tomorrow and see what the moisture content is. They are 160mm x 32mm x 1800mm lengths and are very light, weigh about 3.5kg to 5kg each, but there are lots of knots and most the them - although not leaching - do seem damp, fresh, wet.

So! To my point. I see it as I have 3 options.

1- apply knotting solution before staining. I'm not painting, but staining with two coats of Liberon UV decking Oil, it's worked well before and it's good stuff for quick coating and coverage. Osmo UV is great, but too dear for the qty I'm doing.