Nobex promaster

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

david123

Established Member
Reaction score
Not a review. Just a few comments
Just to say I bought one a couple of weeks ago, apart from the rubbish instructions for setting it up I am delighted with it. At least the one I have, is spot on.
I found that the trick (if it is a trick ) is to let the saw do the cutting. As an artist I do a lot of picture frames which are almost as important as the picture itself. The E-Act extension and measuring guide once set up correctly are IMO a delight to use.
Expensive? Yes but it does a good job for me and I am very happy with it

Yes it is, I read the review on the Axminster site and the reviewer says that there is too much play around the plastic blade guides, mine does not have plastic blade guides and all the ones I have seen also do not have plastic blade guides, they are metal, I don't know what this chap had, but IMO it was not a Nobex, I can almost guarantee that this reviewer did not mount the saw on a base board, I tried that at first and sure enough inaccurate bowed cuts where the result as its difficult to control the saw and blade when the whole thing is wobbling about, just a few simple precautions make this saw a worthwhile buy for accurate mitre cuts.

Mike

I used to have a Nobex until someone decided they wanted it more and nicked it out the back of the van. It was great for using for small mouldings and skirtings/archi's without having to drag out and set up the mitre saw. As you say, the trick is not to rush it and let the saw do the work, otherwise it would soon drift off square.

I am afraid this chap did buy a nobex promaster and he did mount it to a base and has had great mitres from it, I have been making picture frames and mitre joints for a long time and do not post my opinions lightly