Newbie with a Table Saw dilemma

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kmp

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, my first post so please forgive me if the terminology is incorrect. While a complete newbie with wood I have for many years mangled metal with various levels of success. A recent journey into some DIY cupboard and bench making has stirred my interest and I am looking to upgrade some of my DIY type equipment to take on some rather more challenging (for me) projects. I would like to make some simple furniture pieces, chests, small tables and desks etc using veneer plywoods and frames in solid woods.

While I have used my 10” Clarke table saw I have been frustrated by its’ lack of accuracy (repeatability really) and flexible table and fence. I have been looking for something more substantial but with my lack of experience have found the choice to be confusing. As I am retired I can’t take the 20 year route I did with metal working lathes so any thoughts you might have would be much appreciated.

I don’t have a huge shop about 5m x 6m so size is restricted somewhat. Cost is also a factor and I would rather be able to use it rather than spend time rebuilding or searching for spares. The list I have at the moment includes the SIP 01332 (or similar), Charnwood W650 or the W619, the Scheppach TS2010 and the Axminster TS200. For some reason I have not taken to the smaller Record range but can’t really explain why. So my dilemma seems to revolve round a couple of basic questions that I don’t have the experience to answer.

For the type of work described do I need a 10” saw or will an 8” be suitable?

Do I need or will I find it easier to use a saw with a sliding table?

I seem to be leaning towards a cast iron top with an induction motor, is this logical?