Newbie needing general advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bramis25

Reaction score
Happy New Year everyone!!

I’m a newbie to woodworking but not to DIY and although new to the forum I have been reading a lot from the experts on here and trying to build my knowledge and assess what I need, so please be gentle!

Where to start?!

I have recently decided to sell half of my business and have a change, short term I am looking to try out the recycle/upcycle market and do some home renovations and projects and long term I would like to pursue finding my niche and making items that I could sell on.

I have been researching for over 6 months on YouTube to find suitable projects and more recently on forums to build up my basic knowledge and whilst doing this I have been building a workshop/garden room from scratch on my own. Having never built anything other than some fitted shelves with lighting it has been good fun.

I've built a 3.2m x 4.8m Garden Room which is built from 6x2 flooring and roof with 4x2 walls and has a flat EPDM roof with a set of double French doors, this is all levelled off on some bricks above a 6" minimum cement base. It's not quite finished yet, just needs insulation inside and the cladding finished off externally and then the power run in.

I'm looking to build a long mitre saw station along one wall and some storage but other than that I'm really open to any suggestions and ideas.

Once this is done I will be looking to add power tools that I may need to start me off and then add to them as I progress, I guess my basic question is what will I need to get me started and which are the best for me?

I'm happy to buy 3rd first as I believe it's a false economy the tiger way around but I don't want to get ahead of myself trying to use tools that are above my pay grade right now!