New to Scrollsaws

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sarc

Reaction score
Has anyone any knowledge or experience of the Fox 18" Variable Speed Scrollsaw ?
The distributers blurb is shown below and it sounds OK to me but being a complete novice with scrollsaws I do not know how much faith to put in it
javascript:emoticon(':?')

Weighing 22.5kg this heavy duty machine is packed with features, making it ideal for the professional cabinet maker and the discerning home user. The high torque 120W motor has electronic speed control that is variable between 550 and 1600 strokes per minute offers minimal vibration levels to the user. The combination of the 45 degree tilting cast iron table and a throat depth of 18" offer excellent performance when cutting a wide range of materials up to 50mm in thickness. This scrollsaw features a directional air blower which removes dust and waste from the cutting line to give improved vision. Also the dust extractor port gives the user the option to attach a dust extractor to improve waste removal. The addition of the high-tech LED flexi-light also helps to improve visibility of the workpiece. The flexi-drive shaft runs at a speed of between 1500 and 5100rpm and fits directly into a drive socket in the electrical control unit, as well as featuring a handy storage tray for rapid access to tooling items. Included is an extensive range of accessories for drilling, sanding and polishing.

Bob

:cry: [/img]

Welcome to the forum, Bob :) .

It's not a saw I'm familiar with. The specifications look good but scroll saws can be funny beasts - specifications aren't necessarily a good guide to performance. You're quite right to ask if anyone has experience of a saw before you buy one because personal recommendation by a user is undoubtedly the best guide to quality.