new dovetail jig idea

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

neilyweely

Established Member
Reaction score
OK - I am going to post this and go to the 'shop to try and make it work, so maybe in half an hour I will be back explaining how daft I am!!

Bearing in mind my incompetence I often try to cut dovetails on the bandsaw to no avail. They are always far better with the router and jig, or the chisel and small saw.

So, driving home I got to thinking, what about a new sort of jig for the bandsaw, that cuts dovetails. I thought all the cuts are straight cuts, ie no curves, so it should be feesable. How about some sort of chock, cut at the correct angle, to sit under the wood and hold it at correct angle (8') whilst it is passed thru the bandsaw. I am not good with the laptop, or camera, so am relying on your imagination here!! So, cutting the male part is easy enough on a bandsaw, and using a specially cut chock of wood, maybe sliding on some sort of housing unit, so should the female part be.

Of course this will still require some skill (which probly rules me out), but God only knows I need some help with my DT's as the kitchen we want making looks like taking a year or so to make!!!

What I am hoping is that this will spark off the imagination of someone with more talent than I, and we can come up with something between us all!!!

So, I will be back later, with a red face and a few less strands of hair on my head, and let you know where I failed!!!!

Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot for your time.

Neil

I'm guessing you've not read David Charlesworths 'Furniture Making Techniques - Volume One', as it contains what I think you are describing.

If it is, he seems to be able to get excellent results from it so is definitely worth giving it a go. :D

Cheers, Ed