Myford keyless chuck

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve22

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all In looking at buying a 1-16mm mt2 Keyless chuck. I’ve seen a myford one and trying to find out if there any good. I’m new to woodworking so don’t know much and I’m disabled and my hands turn 90 degrees outwards from Rheumatoid Arthritis and was thinking keyless might be better. I think they come from rdg tools I can’t afford a lot but was also unsure of all these Chinese ones out there so thought I would ask the expert. Many thanks steve 👨🏼‍🦽

Any Myford labelling on the chuck will be exactly that: labelling. The name is no guarantee of quality, either high or low.

You could try ArcEuroTrade. Their stuff is unashamedly Chinese, but sourced and sold in a curated manner.

If you have mobility issues, it could be worth seeing if the chuck has holes for a pin spanner or bars. Tightening it wil never be a problem, but loosening it might be difficult with a poor grip. A rubber strap wrench could also help if it does not come with holes.

Large holesaws* and keyless chucks do not play well together.

* If we need to put a number on 'large', let us say of greater diameter than the body of the chuck.

Any Myford labelling on the chuck will be exactly that: labelling. The name is no guarantee of quality, either high or low.

You could try ArcEuroTrade. Their stuff is unashamedly Chinese, but sourced and sold in a curated manner.

If you have mobility issues, it could be worth seeing if the chuck has holes for a pin spanner or bars. Tightening it wil never be a problem, but loosening it might be difficult with a poor grip. A rubber strap wrench could also help if it does not come with holes.

* If we need to put a number on 'large', let us say of greater diameter than the body of the chuck.