Moving on to hardwood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sickasapike

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I've been learning capentry for maybe six months now, mainly building storage, jigs, tables etc for my workshop from ply, MDF and rough stuff with pallet wood etc.

Now I've got a working shop I'm starting on the flat itself, so using nice hardwoods for the first time in anger and now it does matter if it's not quite right; maple first but I also have some oak, cherry and some timber that smells really nice that I can't remember the name of.

I was wondering what tips folk might have for somebody who is used to pallet wood and mdf/ply boards, now shifting to the nice stuff.

It's all been stacked with air gaps on a big rack in my lounge for the last few months so should be pretty dry, the maple is already treated, it all came from a kitchen somebody took out, but a lot of the rest is quite raw.

Of course, there are zillions of techniques I can learn but I'm more thinking of tips like 'slow the router down a bit for the harder stuff' and that sort of thing (err, if that's true). I've already resolved to measure three times instead of two !

sickasapike":3otvzuse said:
Hi all, I've been learning capentry for maybe six months now, mainly building storage, jigs, tables etc for my workshop from ply, MDF and rough stuff with pallet wood etc.

Now I've got a working shop I'm starting on the flat itself, so using nice hardwoods for the first time in anger and now it does matter if it's not quite right; maple first but I also have some oak, cherry and some timber that smells really nice that I can't remember the name of.

I was wondering what tips folk might have for somebody who is used to pallet wood and mdf/ply boards, now shifting to the nice stuff.