MIG versus TIG

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kev

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all,

Anyone here with experiencing of different weld types. A complete beginner with welding and would like to learn with a view to incorporating some metalwork to my joinery projects, things such a table bases/legs etc. Have read up a bit on MIG and TIG welders and the general consensus seems to be that MIG is easier to master as a beginner but is a bit more clumsy (for want of a better word) in terms of weld size but also tend to produce a quicker weld process, whereas TIG is more tricky to master, is slower and better for finer and thinner work. Have I understood this correctly and if so what do people with experience of either recommend for a beginner. Not looking to use it a great deal and very much looking at the basic level.

Thanks all

Pretty accurate assessment I reckon. Depends on the sort of work you anticipate doing. If you are doing lots of thin gauge/pretty work then get TIG and learn how to use it or if you are more general purpose 3-6mm stuff then get a MIG hot glue gun.

Some good reviews of inverter welders by DoubleBoost on youtube. he might be sponsored but calls a spade a spade in true northern fashion.

Ed China has a good explainer and goes on to discuss/demonstrate MIG: