Looking for decent screwdriver set advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jamie Copeland

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi folks

I recently bought a cheap set of screwdrivers for my workshop. I'm an amateur woodturner so I don't use them all that often, however this particular set (bought from The Range) is truly dreadful! I've used on of the screwdrivers on eight screws so far and the head of it has been chewed up already. Soft as s***e springs to mind!

So now I'm looking for your advice. I'm looking for a decent set of screwdrivers (three or four phillips and the same amount flat-head, just for example) that won't get chewed up on a handful of screws!

I was considering this set on Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Stanley-STA5654 ... B000WCI2TC

Cheers

Jamie

Being a sparky in a past profession I've tried most brands out there at one point or another. My advise is to buy from Wera, had this set for about 5 years and haven't missed a beat:
Amazon - Wera 347120 Kraftform Plus VDE Screwdriver Pouch Set (7 Pieces)

I can't see you needing them to be VDE rated for what you do (and to be honest the plastic coating does get in the way if the screw is hidden down a whole I'd buy these:
Amazon - Wera Kraftform 300 Screwdriver Set 6 Piece

(sorry for the lack of direct links, I don't have to permission yet)

I think if you ever need more sizes then you can always buy them individually (my minor OCD demands they all match), but in reality these sizes deal with 90% of screw sizes you're likely to find

Hope that helps

J

I'm probably too late now, but I do like Wera screwdrivers and bought these last year;

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Wera-Kraftform- ... 0+big+pack