Quantcast

Kity Bestcombi Motor

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

BrianA

New member
Joined
1 May 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Okehampton
I have a Kity Bestcombi Year of manufacture 1988 which I am trying to restore..

It has been stored in a barn for 5 years and the motor will not run.

I am looking for a new motor.

Single phase, 1100w, 2 pole, 3,000 rpm.

All the motors which I have found on the Internet are to big to fit into the housing on the machine. Although shaft size is correct.
Is anyone breaking a Bestcombi and would like to sell the motor?
Does anyone know where I can get a suitable motor.

BrianA
 

Lons

Established Member
Joined
14 Feb 2010
Messages
7,243
Reaction score
65
Location
Northumberland
Hi Brian

About the same age as my K5.
I doubt you'll find anybody with a motor available from a dismantled machine as it would still be useful for the individual units. Neither do I know of any current stockist of originals.
If you do find an alternative motor, look at whether you can fit a larger capacity than the 1100 wt as it was a bit underpowered.

Have you had the original looked at by a specialist? It may well be a cheaper and better option to have it rebuilt or if you're really lucky it might be a minor repair.
9fingers might be able to offer advice.

Bob
 

9fingers

Established Member
Joined
26 Jul 2005
Messages
5,000
Reaction score
0
Location
Romsey, Hampshire
Did someone call???

Brian,

Maybe I can help with your motor problem. I agree the Kity motor do tend to be a frame size smaller for a given power rating.

Do you know the history of the machine? Was it mothballed because the motor had failed or does it appear to have developed a problem during storage?

What happens when you try to start it now?
Does the NVR hold in properly?
Does the motor make any noise?
Does it try to turn?
If you take all belts off, spin the motor by hand and then switch on, will it run?
If you repeat the above but spin in the other direction will it also run backwards?

Sorry about all the questions but it will help me to identify the possible problem and suggest a solution.

You might not be able to post a photo here yet being a new member but if you can send me a nice sharp focus photo of the rating plate on the motor to

motors@minchin.org.uk that will help too.

HTH

Bob
 

BrianA

New member
Joined
1 May 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Okehampton
Hi Bob One

Thanks very much for responding to my enquiry. During my research into replacing the motor it has been suggested to me that a rebuild of motors below about 3Kw is not cost effective so I have not taken that further at the moment.

You mentioned that 9fingers may be able to help me. He has also responded to my enquiry.

Hi Bob Two.

Many thanks for your very detailed response to my enquiry. I have taken images of the Motor and will forward them to the address which you gave.

The motor seems to have developed a problem during storage.
I bought the machine new in about 1988. In 2006 I moved house and stored the machine in a Barn it was dry but not heated. After moving house again I had a workshop constructed and this year brought the unit back from the barn.

When I first tried to start it it ran slowly for a while and then stopped. When I switched the machine off the NVR seemed to chatter. So suspecting that there might be a problem with the relay I made up a cable to connect the supply directly to the motor, connecting brown to brown blue to blue and connecting the earth to the frame of the motor. I had removed the drive belt. The motor turned slowly for a while then stopped. I noticed that when I felt the shaft it was rather warm as if the motor had been over heating. I haven’t tried to run it backwards.

It is a Leroy Somer motor I will send a picture of the plate. The capacitor is a 12 microfarad 400V.

I have taken some pictures of the motor in the machine you may be able to see that the length available is about 210mm and the width 160mm. the TEC and Axminster motors which I have found on the Internet have a length about 250mm and a width of 165mm.

If you can throw any light on my problem I would be most grateful.

Best regards

Brian
 

BrianA

New member
Joined
1 May 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Okehampton
Just to complete this thread.

I sent some pictures of the motor to Bob. He recommended that we try the capacitor first.

He gave me a source for the capacitor it arrived within 24 hours and the motor is now running. I haven't reassembled the unit yet so it has only been tested under no-load conditions but it sounds fine.

What a helpful site this forum is.

Brian
 
Top