Kingspan insulation

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toegraf

Reaction score
Just measured up and I’m going to need 9 full size boards 1.2x2.4x.5cm.
Wickes £350.00
Bit pricey for just a man cave is there a cheaper alternative?

Thanks nick.
I’m considering just using 50mm polystyrene comes in at £140.
Either that or the foil covered rock wool.
Does anyone have any experience with this.
Sorry for all the questions, this is my first build and it’s starting to feel like I’m in over my head.

Watching the answers with interest, I might find myself working from home soon necessitating turning the end of the garage into a home office. Warm and cosy it currently isn’t.

There are a number of suppliers of Celotex and Kingspan seconds. Duckduckgo is your friend. :) I don't think I've ever bought new. If you know a builder, ask him to buy it for you as he'll get a discount that you won't.

Toegraf":22qjup89 said:
Thanks nick.
I’m considering just using 50mm polystyrene comes in at £140.
Either that or the foil covered rock wool.
Does anyone have any experience with this.
Sorry for all the questions, this is my first build and it’s starting to feel like I’m in over my head.

Polystyrene is less than half the price but half as efficient I believe only use it if you have deep cavities to fill or otherwise use cavity batts. I think they are more efficient than polystyrene, less fire risk and better for sound insulation but I am no expert.

Cheers Peter

http://www.rockwool.co.uk/products/wall ... nal-walls/

Cheers Peter

Yes, polystyrene is not as good as the foil boarded Celotex / Kingspan etc, it's much less dense and of course if it does catch fire, eek.