Quantcast

jointer blade setting

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

guyos

Established Member
Joined
6 May 2005
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Location
East Sussex
Hello
can someone please tell me :

When setting the jointer knives, should I have the machine depth of cut set to minimum or maximum?
I have had it set to zero is that right?
guyos
 

marcros

(Trevanion)+1
Joined
11 Feb 2011
Messages
10,078
Reaction score
132
Location
Leeds
How do you mean?

I used to wind my tables as far back as I would to get some space. They should be coplanar to the block already Then you set the blades to the block, and wind the tables back. They should still be coplanar to the block and therefore the blades.
 

guyos

Established Member
Joined
6 May 2005
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Location
East Sussex
Thanks for the explanation, I was a bit confused, but it does not seem to matter where I set the in feed table.
guyos
 

Steve Maskery

Established Member
Joined
26 Apr 2004
Messages
11,705
Reaction score
49
Location
Kirkby-in-Ashfield
Ignore the infeed table, just wind it as far down as it will go so you can get your spanner in more easily. You set the blades a tad higher than the outfeed table, registering off the outfeed table to do so.

Edit: This is poor resolution, but you might find it useful:

[youtube]mHfjSatKITQ[/youtube]
 

guyos

Established Member
Joined
6 May 2005
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Location
East Sussex
Thanks guys I seem to have got it set up, a straight edge placed on top of the outfeed table and blade moves a 1/4 " when I turn the cylinder.

Nice video Steve.

My only problem now is to find blades to fit my B&Q machine. that seems impossible.
 

M_Chavez

Established Member
Joined
17 Jan 2015
Messages
110
Reaction score
0
Location
Scotland
May I jump into the thread and ask if the wee magnet jigs for planer blade setting are any good?
https://www.rutlands.co.uk/sp+power-too ... ta+dkpnjig

I've set mine up a while ago (put a plane on the outfeed table and attached a strong magnet to its side - the magnet was strong enough to hold the blades up) but can do with new, sharp blades, so will need to re-set.

Thanks.
 

marcros

(Trevanion)+1
Joined
11 Feb 2011
Messages
10,078
Reaction score
132
Location
Leeds
I am on quick change blades now, but on my previous planer, I used the one-way multi gauge. Really useful but if kit.
 

Latest posts

Top