Is the Metabo HC260 any good? Currently dimensioning with bandsaw and handplanes.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scubadoo

Established Member
Reaction score
I would love to buy one of the bigger planer thicknessers like The Axi /CraftTrade or the iTech 260 but for how often i would use it it seems like overkill and whilst i can afford it, too much money. I have a small 3x6m workshop.
So i'm wondering if i can get by with something like the Metabo HC260 or if that is just wasting money. I normally go for buy the best i can afford.

I'm a hobbyist but have done most of the finish carpentry in my house renovation, built a kitchen and furniture etc and dabble with guitar making, box making etc. And i like to be precise.

At the moment I'm planing one face by hand then resawing close to thickness with my Laguna 14BX bandsaw and cleaning up with the plane. Jointing is done on the router table and refined by hand or done completely by hand sometimes. I do like hand-planing but thicknessing by hand is no fun hence using the bandsaw.

So is the Metabo HC260 too light and too innacurate? Like i said, I'm a hobbyist so i know that don't really need a pro machine but will i be frustrated by poor set up and innacurate results?

I've just completed my first proper job on my new-to-me Metabo having downsized from a 14" Felder and I'm very impressed by it. I've been planing up 2 x 10" yew slabs, so working it to its limit. I'd certainly recommend it for a small workshop. If you're looking for a s/h one keep an eye out for the Record Powers and Scheppachs, they're all the same.
Brian