Is my table saw out there?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeb

Reaction score
Dear Forum Members,

The question in my subject line is only half rhetorical. While I'm sure my table saw is out there, I'm beginning to wonder just how to find the "right" one. I've read a fair amount of the postings on this site but I'm still in the dark and I hope you don't mind that I post again on this topic.

A wee bit of background:

I'm 49 yrs old; a Yank and I just moved to the UK about a year ago. I've got MS and want/need to be engaging in a worthy hobby. something to take my mind off the disease. I've only done minor (type) woodworking in the past but am committed to making this my REAL hobby. Since I'm new to your wonderful country I'm not very familiar with the in's and out's of buying product; particularly the knack it takes to find a fair price on a good piece of used equipment. Hence this posting.

I have a garage (but I haven't learned how to properly pronounce it yet!) which I've set aside 2/3rds for "shop" use. The wiring is all new and I've been told in "excellent" condition.

I'd like to buy a used saw but don't want to buy someone else's problems or have to upgrade after I find out all that my first saw won't do.

My budget is around £500.

Where should I start?

Thanks for your help and advice.

--Jeb

Hi Jeb
Welcome to the forum!
Woodford sell a Delta contractors saw "clone" that is easily within your budget. What work do you envisage doing?
Cheers
Philly :D

Possibly the KITY 419 will be in your price range and an excellent saw that many members own.

Depends, as always, on what you want to do with it

Hey Philly,

Thanks for writing with a specific recomendation.

I'm planning on building (basic) furniture that my grand-children would be proud to have and use.

--Jeb

Jeb,
Welcome to the forum.