I'm scared now! :-(

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woody67

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all - I'm really new to turning and at first all was hunky dory - turned a couple of bowls, pears etc and yesterday when turning a small bowl, I had a couple of "dig-ins" that nearly sent the tool skyward and left a bomb crater in the piece! To say it's rocked my confidence a little is an understatement!
What am I doing wrong?? :cry: :cry:

Mark

Turning wood :lol: .

Sorry Mark, couldn't resist that. Take heart we've all been there, but without actually seeing what you are doing it is almost impossible to say what is going wrong. Probably your technique though would be the first to look at.

Try turning a small bowl and causing a dig in, rather than trying to make something use it as a waste and learn piece. Watch and concentrate on what the tool tip is doing rather than trying to fashion something. Keep the bevel on the wood, and cut small.

Good luck!

woody67":2ugwg67o said:
What am I doing wrong?? :cry: :cry:

Nothing you are learning. :lol:

As Tam says it's difficult to say without seeing which tool you were using and how you presented the tool, but check the following.

1. Is the tool supported on the rest with the point of contact with the wood directly above the support point? in other words did the tool twist/rotate.

2. Have you got the bevel in contact with the wood over its full width and pointing in the direction of cut?

3. Did you let a wing of the tool touch the wood forcing it to rotate?

Hey, we all have catches, part of the sport, but if you are digging in or catching a whole lot, just realizing that you are doing something, wrong, instead of blaming the tools or such is a huge first step to solving your problem.