Ikea/MFC cabinets - adding face frame and doors

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tocaliteb

Reaction score
Hi all,

Apologies if this has been asked before (I did search and couldn't find a similar thread).

I'm currently renovating a utility room. My original plan had been to build all of the cabinets and doors myself. However looking at current prices of MDF and birch ply, I thought it might be better to buy premade cabinets for the majority of the project and only build the cabinets that need to be custom fitted to the room and/or appliances they'll be housing.

Most of the off-the-shelf cabinets seem to be made of MFC or some other chipboard product with which I have zero experience. Does anyone have any experience of adding face frames and inset doors to MFC cabinets? I'm a bit concerned that they might not have the strength required to hold everything together. I'm intending to make the face frame (40mmx20mm), rails and stiles (80mmx20mm) from poplar (tulipwood) with a 6mm MRMDF panel.

Is this a complete non starter? If not, what fixing method would you recommend - dominos, pocket screws, other? PU glue, PVA, Titebond, something else?

Many thanks in advance.

I would have a look at the possibility of rebating the face frames (say 5mm) so that they fitted "into the face of the cabinets" to give some strength and support, and fix them with something like NoMoreNails, perhaps with thin brads too. Something like this (in plan view)

face-frame.JPG

. . . and I'd go for B&Q cabinets rather than IKEA - IME the B&Qs are better made.

You will be fine fixing to MFC cabinets and they will be plenty strong enough.

I have made a few kitchen fronts for a customer who fits them to off the peg cabinets. I think he actually just uses small corner brackets on the inside, doesn't sound great but suppose they will be hidden behind the frame legs.