How to......... Square plates

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stu in Tokyo

Established Member
Reaction score
OK, this is how I'm making these small square plates.

I'm not saying this is the right way, or the only way, it is just "My" way. If anyone has any suggestions as to how I could improve my method, PLEASE speak up, as I'm still learning how to do this lathe stuff

I'm making fairly small plates here, I understand that this method would not be used for larger plates, but for mine, this works just fine.

The wood is Hard Canadian Maple, and the pieces start out about 7.5 cm (3") square, by about 2.5 cm (1") thick.

I cannot stress how important it is to get the pieces exactly square, if the piece is NOT square, then you will not be able to get the thicknesses the same on all four sides.

I drill a 1 1/8" hole about 1/4" deep on one side of the piece, this will be the top. Again, this hole has to be exactly in the center of the piece, take the time to do this right and it will pay off later on.

Here is the stuff I use; custom built "Jam" chuck, 3" square of wood, masking tape, Nova G3 chuck with the pin jaws.

Here you can see the hole, that the pin jaws go into.

I try very hard to get the piece on the pin jaws square and flat too.........

....... I bring up the tail stock with out a live center in it, to press against the wood, as I expand the pin jaws to hold the piece.

once mounted, I use the bowl gouge, a 3/8" with a traditional grind on it, to make my first cuts, these are roughing cuts, so I'm not that concerned about a smooth surface. I then use the parting tool to make my tenon.
(It is also really important to make sure there is a center dimple in the tenon, as you will need this to remount the piece on the jam chuck)