How best to set P/T knives?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ivan

Established Member
Reaction score
The recently reccomended Machine Woodworking for Hand Woodworkers makes an interesting valuable read for the self taught. Thanks Scrit!

From it I get the impression that the practice of setting planer blades with a dial gauge on an engineers magnetic mount, may be laudable but possibly over zealous?

I'm prompted down this mental path, as our realtively new Jet P/T (the one where both tables lift as one for thicknessing) does not have a perfectly flat out feed table. It's probably within 2or 3 thou, but unfortunately there's a dodgy bit of grinding quite close to the cutter block which makes the magnetic mount unsteady, and of couse the dial gauge is a few cms away on the adjustable arm where any movement is magnified. The table is probably well within spec, so...

Whilst you can easily set a knife this way, at any one point to +/- a thou, do you attempt to match the knife to the outfeed table grinding error? The traditional long bit of wood shifted along 3mm averages out the table surface but is very trial and error. Perhaps I should make myself a dial gauge holder to reference from the machined block surface?

Incidentally, Jet provide a short length of ali box section in lieu of the stick - the short length makes this too, position sensive on the out feed table. The book? (above) A precision cutter setter, a Heath-Robinson looking lever/pointer arrangement with scale divisions ofabout 0.2mm and a reminder that about 0.5mm difference in height is needed to make one knife to do all the work.

Ivan,

Would you be referring to one of theses?

Sorry but I don't have a better picture of my Wadkin blade setting gauge, it may look Heath-Robinson but it works a treat. :D

ivan":dwrt40bb said: