Hola from Spain

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spiritburner

Established Member
Reaction score
Well Barcelona, actually, I'm a newly retired engineer who likes to play with metal and wood, but also lasers , 3-D printers and CNC machines in general. I've started building them to order over here and supplying them to the local market and anything from a diode to a full-blown 4 axis CNC machine or CNC Plasma cutter for working on non ferrous metals and hardwoods.

I've lived over here for 24 years with my family and have to admit having just spent two weeks in Worcester with my son and his family, I am struggling to find a good reason to permanently come back to the UK to live. It rained when we landed , it rained when we took off and for the two weeks in between those two days, it rained every single day and I don't think we saw the Sun once. I seem to remember, that was why I left back in 99.

We have a nice life here and if anybody's thinking of moving feel free to contact me, I can give you some advice. Where we are we have 320 days of sun and pure blue skies every year. Although now summers are getting a lot hotter, last year we recorded 43ºc 100kms north of us.

We live just south of Barcelona in a small and very old fishing village called Sitges,itsnowvery popular and has featured on several uk TV showsI understand and I have to admit we are pretty lucky to be here, however I would say the reason we have lasted this long is because we fully integrated into Spanish society, sadly many people who come from the UK and other countries to live in Spain prefer to live generally in the Ex-Pat areas mainly down in the south and end up living in a "Little Britain" type scenario and most can't even speak more than a few words of Spanish after many years of living here.