Help with Tooling advice for Kitchen project.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

hello - I have been watching this forum with interest over the last few months as I am new to woodworking and about to embark on a major project (well it is major to me).

After Xmas I want to start refurbishing our house which is an old cottage.
The first job is to refit the kitchen.
Although the worktops and doors are relatively new, the carcasses are very old and sit directly on the floor - damp seems to have bloated the bottom and they smell a bit.

They are currently a beige plastic finish (cheap melamine I think) and I want to do them out of a light coloured plywood ( a friend of mine can get me 8 x 4 good quality boards cheap - from his work).

My first question for you guys is what tooling would you suggest I get to make the new carcasses.

My second question is what construction methods would you advise.

I don't want to spend too much money, but at the same time I will be doing a lot of other work like replacing flooring, skirting board and internal doors over time, and need tools that will stay the course.

The cabinets can be raised on adjustable plastic or metal legs to overcome rising damp. Bear in mind that the bloat could have been caused by a water spilage from washing machine etc. Plywood is not usually the material of choice, mfc usually being used for cleaning purposes. Before installing a new kitchen, I think I would correct the possible damp problems first!

Before installing a new kitchen, I think I would correct the possible damp problems first!

This will be done with the refit - it was leaks (small but consistent) in the old fittings/pipework which have been temporarily fixed until all the plumbing is replaced.

Plywood is not usually the material of choice, mfc usually being used for cleaning purposes.