Hello (plus a question about bandsaws)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AJB Temple

Finely figured
Reaction score
Hello. I am a new member and this is my first question.

By way of introduction, I have been woodworking for many years off and on, initially making musical instruments, then doing project work such as making kitchens and utility rooms at homes I used to live in. Most of this was with hand tools and small power tools. I am now equipping a proper workshop, almost from scratch, as I plan to build and fit out a large fully hand made kitchen and various other projects. This is not commercial.

I am looking acquire a bandsaw. I have read pretty much everything I can find here and elsewhere about bandsaws and the consequence of this is that I may purchase one much larger than I originally expected,. I have used them but never owned one. I am keen to avoid a purchasing error. I will be making some tables, an end grain butchers block (very large) and all kitchen caressing and some thick hardwood work surfaces. This is likely to include an element of resawing as well as general joinery work. I had originally thought that a hobbyist bandsaw, such as a Record 300 or 350 would be sufficient. Forum wisdom seems to suggest that to get good, accurate reliable performance, bigger is better. I have considered second hand usually English made Startrite 352 (for example) but these go for around £500 on eBay plus my time collecting it, whereas a new one (made in the Far East) with guarantee and delivery is around £1,000. Old looks risky in this context. I understand that this machine is about to be replaced with a new 16" design by the way.

I am also looking at the two Hammer machines, Jet 16" and the Record 400E. Maybe Axminster too (there is one near me).