Hello from Ruislip! Newbie needing assistance

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

k.halai

Reaction score
Hello!

I've just discovered this forum and looking forward to contributing. I'm a relatively newbie in making furniture and was after some advice. I'm making a desk for my wife and for the desk top I need advice on what wood to purchase and paint. The top should be 18mm thick and 500mm wide. She also wants it to be white that shows the wood grain.

I was initially looking at furniture boards from B&Q but they're either the wrong size or are melamine faced which is difficult to paint white!

Thanks

Kish

Hi and welcome- as far as painting melamine it’s not an issue . I use either undercoat that’s designed for melamine or one of the multi surface paints that are readily available. As for seeing the grain thought that could be a little tricky. Maybe a different type of top will suit your needs better. I’m not that experienced in furniture making but others will offer their advice at some point .

The white and showing woodgrain is called lime wash effect ( if I understand you correctly ), you just paint on thinned white paint and whipe it back off with a rag, it sits in the grain. Then you can clear coat it for extra protection. It works best on open grained wood like Ash and Oak.

If I were you I would not be trying to make furniture with any wood from B and Q because it is mostly garbage.
Solid wood is best or a veneered plywood/ MDF with a solid lipping applied, can be the same wood or a nice contrast.

Ollie

double check what moisture content you need in the wood.
Furniture makers usually go for 9% moisture in the wood. Most box store stuff will likely be 13% or higher.
You’re much better off finding a timbre mill that do kiln dried wood, that you can buy cheaper and with more variety.