Question from the FNG

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rogue=Friday

Reaction score
Greetings all.
Newbie here. :)
I'm an avid DIYer who's just bought an Edwardian house that needs..... everything doing to it.

My current problem is related to the beading around the 4 panel doors in the house.
Before I moved in, one of the doors was replaced. this new door doesnt match the others at all.
I have aquired a new 4 panel door of the right size (and it is Very heavy)
However the beading on the door was shot and needed to be removed.

The crux of the problem is the beading on my existing doors appears to be quite unique.
It looks like Ogee but without the little lip at the end.
I would post a picture of the profile but that doesnt appear to be an option here.

Im looking for some router advice. I have some ogee beading from B&Q that is almost right, but will need adjusting to make it usable.
Are there any router experts on here who can help me?.

Cheers
Peter
Huddersfield

Hi and welcome to ukw, you should be able to post pics but you may have to have so many messages 1st . Then just click ghe attach files and either take pic or select from your phone ..

I think you are referring to the beading used to hold the panels in place - technically referred to as a bolection ? I have to ask why is the original ' shot ' if it's a new door ! ?
Originally mouldings were made with hand planes and there were hundreds of patterns. Nowadays most people will try and find a router cutter that matches the originals as much as possible. Some purists will even have a custom cutter made if the job justifies the cost. As you say perhaps your beading from B+Q could be routed to give the correct pattern. ?