Glue suitable for chopping boards

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

worker

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, can you recommend a glue suitable for chopping boards, ideally a budget option as I am not making any money from making them! I am a hobbyist woodworker and have only used Everbuild 502 for small projects. I couldn't make head or tails out of the technical info on their website :LOL: and whether it would be safe if it ever came into contact with food.

Last edited:
You need a water resistant glue at least, personally I'd use something like cascamite a waterproof glue. Food safe doesn't really come into it, once the glue is cured it won't contaminate anything.
By the way, Titebond isn't just PVA it is better than a standard white glue, trust me 😄

As above, Titebond has a different chemical make-up to PVA. I was converted some years ago from using PVA and Cascamite, or what ever it's now branded as. Yes it is more expensive but does go a very long way. Just make sure you use the Titebond III

Colin

Hi, can you recommend a glue suitable for chopping boards, ideally a budget option as I am not making any money from making them! I am a hobbyist woodworker and have only used Everbuild 502 for small projects. I couldn't make head or tails out of the technical info on their website :LOL: and whether it would be safe if it ever came into contact with food.
I would recommend Tightbond. It’s the best glue I’ve found for wood. They do a waterproof version.

I used Titebond III about 15 years ago on two chopping boards, which are still going strong. I guess I should have done one with Everbuild 502 as a control, but didn't think of it at the time.

wudcare PVA is just as good as titebond, and it's water proof too, I don't bother with titebond anymore.

titebond "original" msds...IMO deliberately vague.