Freshly Cut Sycamore

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chrisbaker42

Established Member
Reaction score
Being a complete novice who has only ever used dry blanks I am in need of some advice. I have acquired a sycamore trunk roughly 250cm x 30cm and as I am collecting it on Sunday need to know what is the best size to cut it to for storage. I would like to try turning some green so any advice for both drying and green turning would be gratefully received.

Sycamore needs to be stored on end - i.e. not stacked flat on sticks but in an upright orientation otherwise it is given to staining, especially where it is resting on the sticks.

Generally you would keep the bits as long as you can (to minimise the % of waste due to splitting at the ends) and certainly keep the lengths to more than the diameter. Paint the end grain with something (gloss paint, melted wax, end grain sealer, anything really) to reduce the rate at which the wood dries out from the end grain.

I've yet to turn green (something that I am keen to do) however as I understand it a spigot is better as you can keep tightening it if necessary without fear of cracking the wood, wear something waterproof and protect the surrounding workshop from the water spraying off.

If you're going for the warping look (i.e. turning once) you need to go an thin as you dare (for max warpage) but it has to be even (to avoid splits due to different levels of tension). Sanding can be assisted with a hot air gun held above the area being sanded on the rotating lathe.