Foot switch for lathe safety?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amadeus

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've yet to use my Myford ML8 but as a beginner I want to make sure I am working in as safe an environment as possible.

I have seen various configurations of safety cut-outs for lathes, and wanted to check if there was any reason NOT to use a momentary foot pedal switch like this one to operate a lathe?

I've read that some people think that we are conditioned to press to brake when e.g. driving, but if you use a sewing machine these are press to activate so I don't agree with this argument.

I don't feel like an emergency stop button located to the left of the motor, where the electronics are currently housed, will be particularly safe as I would have to reach behind the head to activate it. I have read about knee-bars but am not confident in setting one up. A foot pedal seems very practical and for my low-usage scenario not unduly uncomfortable.

Thoughts welcome!

Amadeus

Only recently started turning so others are sure to have more experience but thinking through the most likely risks the one that it might be most important for is if something got caught around the woodpiece and pulls you in. In that case a footswitch would be pretty useful.
I think it would be less useful for something like a bowl breaking as it will have already flung the piece before you hit the off switch.

I built my own extension lead with a push button stop on a board so I can activate it by foot. I can put it on all of my machines as its an extension. I think it is probably more important for table saws and bandsaws where you might be holding the workpiece and something starts to bind or go wrong and you can't let go to get to the switch.