Flex SBG 4910 or Femi 782XL

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wuffles

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Anyone here own either (or both, although the question why would be relevant there) of the above band saws?

I'm leaning toward the Flex, spoken with Matt at Stakesy's at length about it and the fact that a 3rd party vertical adaptor table is available for it clinches it for me. He wasn't aware of the Flex though, and although I've emailed Flex to find out about where it was manufactured, I was curious as to whether anyone had first hand experience of it. The fact that you can slip the Flex out of the bracket and use it freehand is appealing to me.

I'm a novice user, but need to recreate accurate mitres, and the Rage Evolution chop saw isn't really cutting it for that.

accurate mitres on a bandsaw? it isn't really the tool for that- I would saw that of all the saw options, a bandsaw would be my last choice.

marcros":24uwp90p said:
accurate mitres on a bandsaw? it isn't really the tool for that- I would saw that of all the saw options, a bandsaw would be my last choice.

Do you use a metalworking band saw?

i am sorry, i had read "new posts" and hadn't seen the forum section.

no wonder the brand names weren't familiar.

marcros":3dqvce0s said:
i am sorry, i had read "new posts" and hadn't seen the forum section.

no wonder the brand names weren't familiar.

I'd hoped that was the case, years of YouTube videos died in my mind when I read that.

:wink:

Just an update. Flex did eventually come back to me and confirmed their saw is made in the PRC, whereas the Fermi is made in Italy. Normally I'd be confused, but I have been informed that Italy make some very decent metalworking tools.

Seems the Flex is being sold at Ferm money with a generic quality.

depending on accuracy needed, i would be leaning towards one of these.