First post...

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brokentechie

Reaction score
Hello all,

New boy here, my total woodworking experience is about zero, followed by a couple of hours messing around on my mates dad's lathe with some cherry I think about 23 years ago.

I was quite proud of the bowl I made (about the size of a tobacco pipe bowl!)

I'm here to learn turning, specifically small bowls (lidded and open) shaving brush handles, portafilter handles, and maybe even traditional razor handles.

I think I'm having a mid life crisis, well at least SWMBO does!

I guess I'm looking for advice on a complete unknown, I'm not totally without skill of hand, I'm an airframe engineer by trade, so I can hand-work metal down to pretty fine tolerance (+- 0.04 mm) and the pieces I'm envisioning are not massive.

I guess I need a lathe, tools, a decent saw (hand or band?) and maybe a pillar drill?

I know I have a lot to learn, but I need a winter hobby, I do a spot of fishing in summer (fair weather) and a project - one that preferably earns a few extra pounds wouldn't go amiss either (I'm also looking at making artisanal soaps, specifically shaving soaps, male and female) and I'd like to make little sample pots to send out.

Well that's the big plan, so far I have little budget, an idea to join the local interest group that was mentioned here (I'm in Bristol and need to find the thread again) so I can get my skills up and hopefully get this show on the road.

Can anyone recommend some more information and sources for me to start doing my homework?

Thanks for making it this far and I look forward to making a lot of new acquaintances

BT

Buy Keith Rowley - Woodturning - A Foundation Course. (Waterstone's Marketplace have one for 71p +P&P atm).
Join a club BEFORE you start to spend money.