First Guitar -WIP

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

syntec4

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

Just started my first guitar (from scratch; I have built a few from parts before) at the weekend. Only WIP pictures so far but have a look anyway.

The main body is my design based on a few features I like in some of the other guitars I own. The body is from a single piece of Sapele. Not the normal 'Tonewood' but its quite dense and very heavy so it should have plenty of sustain.

I am trying to source some some maple and rosewood for the neck at the moment. I will be installing a Wilkinson trem and Seymour Duncan pickups. Just been trying to make the template to route the body cavity for the trem springs and the wiring. I've never used a guide bush/template setup before, should be fun

:shock:

Cheers.

Lee.
2006_0413_170940_JPG.jpg

The rest of the pictures are here http://www.harrisonwoodwork.co.uk

Looks like a good start. One of my friends from college has asked me to try making him a guitar so I'll probably be doing a similar project come the summer holidays. I'm looking forward to seeing your progress with this.

I'll also be keeping an eye on this one, its something I'd love to have a go at. Very nice so far.
Neil

Made a little more progress over the past week or so. Used a Drawknife that I found in the field whilst picking up dead wood for the hotspot heater. The knife was quite rusty but cleaned up well with some wire wool. Sharpened it on the grinder on holds a sharp edge. Worked a treat on the guitar body for removing large bits of waste. In fact in leaves quite a nice finish.

2006_0425_103913_JPG.jpg

You can see the body contours are getting quite close here. Had to remove quite a bit of material.
2006_0425_103738_JPG.jpg

After a bit of sanding with some 120 paper.
2006_0425_103647_JPG.jpg