Finishing Birch Ply

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vikash

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a newbie hear and excited to have found this uk workshop forum. I'm by no means a woodworking purist, but my interest lies in speaker building and I've recently started working on a project using latvian birch ply that I need help finishing.

I've tried several things so far (after sanding with 180 grit using palm sander):
a) applying a couple of coats of danish oil. The result is a very blotchy finish (from what I'm told is uneven absobtion).
b) applying some pva to help seal and take the oil more evenly. The result is better but still not very even.
c) single pack acrylic lacquer sprayed and polished out which is still blotchy at some viewing angles.

Here's (c):
10-08-06-01.jpg

I'm not particularly set on any type of finish which is why I'm trying a few things - looking for the easiest to apply with the best overall finish.

I haven't tried a cabinet scraper before (although read about it a bit here) and it seems this will help a lot in preperation for whichever finish I decide. Also I've heard that cellulose sanding sealer may help take a top coat more evenly. Before I splash out on more tools and finishes I would like your opinions and advice!

Here are the speakers I need help finishing:
orion_01.jpg

Vikash

Hi Vikash and welcome!