Eucalyptus - how do I use it for something nice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimi43

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys.

After reading the "Magnolia" thread I thought I would ask you guys a few questions about a eucalyptus I am going to have to "trim" soon.

This tree is apparently quite a rare variety and was planted in my garden by the previous owner (photo to follow when it gets light again).

It is now HUGE....(actually enormous is more correct) and sprawling up and out all over the shop. There are a few VERY LARGE branches that are now threatening my neighbour's outbuildings and they need cutting back. This will provide me with some lovely long and relatively straight logs which I would dearly love to plank and dry.

I have never done this before and I would like advice from the wealth of experts here who I think may have.

I need to know:

a) is this variety of wood worth the bother (I think I know the answer to that but would like it confirmed)

b) once I cut the branches, what processes to I go through to plank it the best way and

c) once planked how do I dry it the best way to prevent splitting and cracking?

Any advice gratefully received....

I will post some pictures tomorrow....

Jimi

I have a coffee table I made from a kidney shaped Eucalyptus Burl. The colour is lovely and just finished with lots of coats of Danish Oil. Will try and find a photo to post. I left the edges rough and am gradually getting the sharp bit removed via my shin as and when I bump into it :lol:

The burr has shown some shakes but that is probably the nature of the burr, I think it adds to the character, if sound advice is not forthcoming regard the conversion try an Aussie woodwork site #-o I had one here somewhere........

Edit:- http://www.woodworkforums.com/index.php found it :)