Electricity supply...

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MR H 91

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm in need of more power in my garage to supply my new Jet JPT-310 and a dust/chip extractor that I haven't purchased yet which will of course be running along with the P/T. I'm no electrician, hence the thread but I know the wire currently installed in the garage from the consumer unit in my house is currently 2.5mm twin and earth.

Of course I'll never be using a table saw, planer/thicknesser and router at the same time, but I will be using the dust extractor plus one of these tools at the same time. I will of course have a couple of lights on too (4 fluorescent tubes in total) and will require sockets for power tools, but wont require them to be powered at the same time as my machinery.

My question is, how does one work out the required amps needed to power them both at the same time? I have a close family member who is an electrician and he will install the wires, fuse board and 16amp socket for me so I'm sure he will know what to do but just want to be sure in my own mind before I go and spend more money on tools that I may not even be able to power up. Am I right when I say, the power cable will come directly from the consumer unit and then split into smaller amp fuses within the workshop?

I hope this makes sense and sorry for the long winded question.

Thank you

Had my garage/workshop supply upgraded a few years ago. The electrician ran a new swa cable from the main house consumer unit, non-RCD protected side, to a new smaller consumer unit with it's own RCD in the garage.

The garage consumer unit had a number of circuit breakers in it to cover the lighting, power sockets, and one dedicated to the 16 amp power circuit.