Electric Nailer/Stapler

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stewart

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all
I have no knowledge or experience of these tools. I need to board a loft space with hardboard and have decided that an electric nail/stapler will be very handy for this job. I will probably only need it for light work in future. What models does anyone recommend?
Thanks for your time
Cheers
Stewart

I have a Machine Mart stapler/nailer,and a JCB nail gun.
Tend to use the Clarke one only as a stapler now,since getting the nail gun.
Main points to look for are what type/size of staples/nails they take (e.g. I think my nailer takes 8 to 16mm - which is plenty for 3mm hardboard),and how easy they are to change (my nailer has never jammed,but the stapler/nailer sometimes does)
For light use,any of them on the market will be ok.(The usual "you get what you pay for" applies,of course.)
Rapesco are a quite well-known name,but from what I've read,they only take their own brand staples/nails,which seem to be more expensive than most others.

Andrew

Thanks, Andrew.
you've pointed me in the right direction.
Cheers
Stewart

I have a Rapesco staple gun and it's pretty dire. I also have a B&Q cordless 18v nail gun and it's not that bad as it does what I've wanted it to do so far ("...and hold it in place with a couple of brads").

I honestly think that the Rapesco should be classed as a sub-hobby jobby as you have to judge what pressure you need to sink the staples in by pushing the the stapler hard against the wood... too little and the staples don't sink into the wood... too much and you leave marks in the wood.

Thanks for the info about the Rapesco line - I probably would have believed the full page magazine adverts!