Egg beater hand drills

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sheffield Tony

Ghost of the disenchanted
Reaction score
Perhaps someone can help me with something I can't understand.

I have one of those egg beater style hand drills; in my case one of the Fooprint ones with a proper chuck. It comes with a side handle. Perhaps I am being thick here, but how do you use it ? With your third arm ? Using just the side handle it seems very hard to hold it steady. Judging by the pristine paint job on the side handle compared to the rest of the tool, I presume it is not just me that is baffled ?

Mine has a handle in line with the chuck, not on the side. Is there something missing from yours? Post up a pic, I'm intrigued.

Steady with side handle, apply pressure to end handle with your belly.

At least that's what I have been doing for the last 40 years.

I don't have a photo to hand, but yes, there is the main, in-line handle that is all I normally use, but it also comes with a detachable side handle that screws on the opposite side to the main gear and tuning handle, along the axis of the main gear. It's not the same model as this one, but a smaller version which does not have a breast plate option, but the handle arrangement like the top picture.

I need to turn the turning handle, hold the top handle to steady it, and then for a bit more torque, I can screw in the side handle and hold that with my third hand ?

Like Blockplane said.

It's a bit easier with a nice Millers Falls mushroom head handle, but for anyone who works out on a pole lathe, the required muscles should be up to the job!

I always found them a bit useless for woodwork. Brace and bit better.
Except I've got the little Stanley 105 amongst my collection (hand and electric) and found it was the only one with a chuck which'd hold a 1mm bit, which is very occasionally handy.