Drilling my #7 jointer for a fence

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jim_hanna

Established Member
Reaction score
I've got fed up trying to hold a jointer fence onto my no #7 with clamps, it always felt unstable and unbalanced. I'm an occasional hobbyist when time permits so I find a fence useful.

So I decided to commit sacrilege and drill and tap my plane. Hopefully I won't be judged too harshly since my plane is not a vintage heirloom, just a modern Axminster own brand Soba.
I didn’t feel so bad when I found pictures here of a Bedrock #608 with the same drill holes.

It drilled and tapped easily, two M5 screws hold a piece of ply rigid and square. I'll drill the ply for a couple of bolts to hold on the inner fence, which could be of different depths to match the workpiece or bevelled at a required angle.

First fit
firstfit.jpg

First fit, checking that the bolts hold the ply square to the base.
square.jpg

After a bit of trimming
insitu.jpg

Sacrilege :D
sacrilege.jpg

Attachments

• firstfit.jpg
    firstfit.jpg
    135.8 KB · Views: 1,177
  • square.jpg
    square.jpg
    39.6 KB · Views: 1,177
  • insitu.jpg
    insitu.jpg
    126.3 KB · Views: 1,177
  • sacrilege.jpg
    sacrilege.jpg
    129.9 KB · Views: 1,177
A jointer fence is an unusual attribute, it's IMO counter productive to what your trying to achieve.

If the blade is perfectly straight across and is perfectly aligned to the bottom of the plane, then yes, it's possible that the fence will help to achieve a perpendicular surface. However, to sharpen a blade without introducing a slightly convex shape is extremely difficult and for most people undesirable. Equally the ability to set a blade absolutely parallel to the bottom of the plane should the blade be absolutely straight across is again very difficult and time consumming to achieve.