Do I need a Band-saw and a Table-saw?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RickG

Established Member
Reaction score
OK, I know this is potentially a, "how long is a piece of string?" question.
If there wasn't a need for both types of saw, they wouldn't have been invented. But, I'm new here so this is my debut/introduction posting.

I'm new to this woodworking malarky. It all started when I was thinking about making a bass guitar for myself. Realising, of course, that you never make "a/an" anything. It's going to multiply.

Anyway, my uncle who is a woodturner, asked me, "would you like a lathe? I've got a friend who wants one taken away." Well, it would be rude not to...

So, now I have an Axminster M950 lathe. So, my question is... how to turn a bass guitar..?

I digress. Sorry. Well in my enthusiasm I bought a circular saw and a table saw. Then learned that most wood turners have band saws. Looking into band saws I learned how you can rip wood with a band saw. So, I've arranged to buy a band saw from Gary on here. All is good.

But, if I have a Band-saw, do I still need the Table saw?

I'm also thinking of making Band-saw boxes and might get into other things like shelves etc.

The other thing I should say is; space is very limited. "The Workshop" is the garage and there's loads of other stuff in there that I'm trying to get rid of, but it's taking a lot of time.

Many thanks

bandsaw tablesaw two different tools two different jobs

table saw - straight cuts along the grain (ripping) or across the grain (often using additiona sleds/jigs) can cut angles bevels tapers chamfers, either through or partially through a thickness. but in all cases* straight. especially useful for sheet goods like plywood and mdf

band saw - much more versatile for cutting curves, harder and slower to get an accurate straight cut.